Sign In
Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Alternate Answer
The EPI is a state-approved alternative certification program for individuals who have a bachelor’s degree, in a field other than education, and now want to transition into teaching.  Individuals who successfully complete the EPI program will be eligible for a Professional Teaching Certificate in Florida.   In order to complete the EPI program, individuals must meet the three requirements listed below. 
EPI Courses
  • Successful completion of the seven courses (21 credits) with at aleast a C or above
  • Maintain an overall 2.5 GPA
Florida Teacher Certification Exams
  • Students must successfully pass the following FTCE and provide a score report to the EPI office
    1. General Knowledge Exam
      • English
      • Reading
      • Essay
      • Mathematics
    2. Subject Area Exam
    3. Professional Education Exam

Program Portfolio

Students are required to submit a program portfolio that will be reviewed, assessed and approved by EPI faculty.  The program portfolio will document the student’s understanding, demonstration and mastery of the Florida Education Accomplished Practices (listed below).  Students submit a mid-program portfolio after completing three classes and a final portfolio after completing all seven classes.
Florida Educator Accomplished Practices
  1. Assessment
  2. Communication
  3. Continuous Improvement
  4. Critical Thinking
  5. Diversity
  6. Ethics
  7. Human Development and Learning
  8. Knowledge of the Subject Matter
  9. Learning Environments
  10. Planning
  11. Role of the Teacher
  12. Technology
  13. Reading Competency 2 (Foundations in Research Based Practices)​​
Broward College​
111 East Las Olas Boulevard
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: 954.201.7350
​ ​
Copyright ©​ 2017 | Broward College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, genetic information, national origin, marital status, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. ​
​​View our non-discrimination policies and Title IX.​​