Law Enforcement Academy Information

All scheduled academies are for agency hired cadets only. Should space become available for self-sponsorship, eligible candidates must complete an application and enrollment process through this website.

Police Academy Orientation Program Dates Graduation (Date/Location)
#330 Police Academy 1/13/20 & 1/14/20 1/21/20-9/25/20 TBD
#331 Police Academy 1/13/20 & 1/14/20 1/21/20-10/02/20 TBD
#332 Police Academy 8/17/20 & 8/18/20 8/24/20-2/12/21 TBD
#333 Police Academy 8/17/20 & 8/18/20 8/24/20-2/12/21 TBD
#334 Police Academy 11/02/20 & 11/03/20 11/09/20-4/30/21 TBD
#335 Police Academy 2021 March/April 2021 TBD
Police Service Aide Academies Orientation Program Dates Graduation (Date/Location)
#57 Police Service Aide Academy 3/11/20 6/29/20-8/11/20 TBD
#58 Police Service Aide Academy 2021 TBD TBD
Correction Academies Orientation Program Dates Graduation (Date/Location)
#167 Corrections Academy 1/22/20 1/27/20-7/10/20 TBD
#168 Corrections Academy 7/29/20 8/3/20-10/30/20 TBD
#169 Corrections Academy 2021 TBD TBD
Crossover Academies CO to LEO Orientation Program Dates Graduation (Date/Location)
#48 Corrections Crossover TBD TBD N/A

Jump to information on:

Police Academy

The Law Enforcement Academy, Basic Recruit Training program is a 22-week (770 hours) program that provides training to prepare a student for the physical and mental demands of a career as a Florida police officer or deputy sheriff. Training and classes take place Monday through Friday, from 7:45 a.m. to 5 p.m. or 12:45 p.m. to 10 p.m.

Students must be hired, sponsored by an agency.  

Requirements for entry into the Police Academy are:

 Test requirements are:

All tests are available at the Criminal Justice Testing Center located on Central Campus. 

For additional information on becoming a certified officer in Florida please contact the Florida Department of Law Enforcement 

View full Police Academy program (PDF)

Physical Fitness Preparation Guide (PDF)

Police Service Aide (PSA) Academy

Aide Academy is a five and a half week training program and meets Monday through Friday from 7:45 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Entry to the academy is available to hired participants. Participants in the Police Service Aide Academy must wear their department-issued uniforms or purchase uniforms.  Uniforms are not provided by Broward College/Institute of Public Safety.

Training is conducted in: 

For more information on how to become a Police Service Aide and enroll in the academy, contact 954-201-4971.

Police Service Aide Academy Major Code 5271 (PDF)

Corrections Officer/Deputy Academy

Upon satisfactory completion of this 420-hour program, students will be eligible to take the State Officer Certification exam for Corrections Officers as prescribed in Florida State Statute Chapter 943.17(1). 

 7:45 AM-5: 00 PM Monday thru Friday

The Corrections Officer/Deputy PSAV certification program prepares you to train to become a State of Florida corrections officer. Corrections officers/deputies typically work in: 

They are responsible for the supervising, care, custody and physical restraint, when necessary, of inmates.

Courses for the certificate program train you to:

For more information on how to become a Corrections Officer, click here:  

Broward Sheriff’s Office Detention Deputy Sheriff Information and Application

Corrections Officer Academy Basic Recruit Training Program Code 5270 (PDF)

Corrections Officer Crossover to Law Enforcement Officer Academy

The Law Enforcement Officer Crossover from Correctional Officer PSAV certificate program is designed to train you if you are currently certified in the corrections discipline to laterally move to the law enforcement discipline. This course recognizes your previous training in a basic certification program and meets all requirements of the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission.

Upon satisfactory completion, students will be eligible to take the CJSTC Certification Examination, as prescribed in Florida Statute § 943.17(1).

Correctional Officer Crossover to Florida Law Enforcement Officer Academy Major Code 5278 (PDF)

Equivalency of Training Process

This process is intended for out-of-state officers, federal or military officers and previously certified Florida officers with a four year or more break in service pursuant to section 943.131(2). An officer cannot have more than an 8 year break in service in order to be eligible for this process. The Equivalency of Training Process allows an officer to be exempt from the full basic recruit academy.

Eligibility Requirements:

Once approved, you will receive an Equivalency of Training CJSTC Form 76.

You will then need to demonstrate proficiency in the high liability areas and pass the state certification exam in the same discipline within 1 year of receipt of the approved Equivalency of Training CJSTC Form 76. 

You can attend the 92-hour high liability courses at the following local locations:
Palm Beach State College - Main Number (561) 207-5000

Miami-Dade Police Academy - Main Number (305) 715-5000

You must take and successfully complete your State Officer Certification Exam (SOCE)

We process EOTs here at Broward College but currently do not offer any of the courses needed to complete the EOT. In addition, your $295.00 processing fee does not include the high-liability courses you must demonstrate proficiency in or your State Officer Certification Exam. Those are additional fees.

 

College Credit based on Academy Completion and Experience

​Students may earn college credit towards a Criminal Justice degree through Prior Experiential Learning by completing a Police, Corrections or PSA Academy.  For specific requirements, please click on ont of the below Academies:

College Credit for Police Academy (PDF)

College Credit for Corrections Academy Post 2014 (PDF)

College Credit for PSA Academy (PDF)

Resources

Wayne Boulier, Associate Dean Criminal Justice Training

Building 21, 114

954-201-6396

email: wboulier@broward.edu

 

Lisa Biondo, Coordinator Public Safety Programs

Building 21, 113

954-201-6923

email: lbiondo@broward.edu

 

Lynn Zipoli, Executive Assistant

Building 21, 111A

954-201-6792

email: lzipoli@broward.edu

 

Lera Potter, Executive Assistant

Building 21, Room 111

954-201-4971

email: lpotter@broward.edu​

 

Artimus Trammell, Career and Technical Education Advisor

Building 21, 126

954-201-6919

email: atrammel@broward.edu

Sharron Bailey, Faculty

Building 21, 141

954-201-6802

email: sbailey@broward.edu

 

Marc Dady, Faculty

Building 21, 221

954-201-6799

email: mdady@broward.edu

 

Richard Schwab, Faculty

Building 21, 127

954-201-4972

email: rschwab@broward.edu

 

Tamara Spaulding, Faculty

Building 21, 221

954-201-6799

email: tspauldi@broward.edu

 

Roger Torres, Faculty

Building 21, 141

954-201-6810

email: rtorres1@broward.edu

Robert Voss, Faculty

Building 21, Room 127A

954-201-4346

email: rvoss@broward.edu

Pre-Exam Qualification Course FAQ's

Yes, in most cases you can. You must contact one of the approved selection centers or an employing agency and provide them with documentation proving that you have worked at least one year as a full-time certified officer, and have comparable training to Florida’s basic recruit training program. Once the selection center or agency determines your eligibility, you will be issued an approved CJSTC Form 76.

Upon receipt of this approval, you will have one year to demonstrate proficiency in the high liability areas (which may take one to two weeks) and pass the State Officer Certification Exam.

If you cannot complete this process within one year from receiving the approved Application for Equivalency, you must complete the full basic recruit training program pursuant to s. 943.131(2), F.S. You are only allowed one Equivalency​

Per the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, you are only permitted three opportunities to pass.

Individuals who do not pass after three attempts must complete the applicable Basic Recruit Training Program and reapply to take the State Officer Certification Exam. ​

You are required to take the SOCE within one year of receiving the exemption, according to the Florida State Statute 943.121.